Etymo-musings

I’m a nerd and I have proof!

While hastily typing away on former roommate Angelo‘s blog, I drew breath for my final sentence. The punch (not aimed at him [this time]) was delivered, “that’s a recipe for disaster.” And suddenly, I was lost.  ‘Disaster…Dis-aster’…

Asteroid…Asterisk…Astral…
Discard….Disassociate…Disturb…

I’m so struck by how astrology permeates our language. “Ill-starred” – there’s a poetry to this word. It conjures poor Oedipus to my mind. Recall to mind the theme of A Knight’s Tale: change the stars.

Perhaps little further comment is necessary. It struck me and I felt it worth noting.  Nay, it sparked my imagination for a moment and I thought that such things should be embraced rather than dismissed.

How the ancients might frown on our misunderstanding of our own words!

Join the discourse and be misunderstood, or be misunderstood

